Young British Artists: A Change By Any Other Name

Manchester’s Young British Artists have dropped their long awaited debut album ‘A Change By Any Other Name’ today and I am pleased to say that it is Post Punk/Shoegaze perfection.


Track Listing:
1) A New Language
2) Salad Days
3) Lived In Skin
4) Mirror Trail
5) The Lifting Sea
6) Capsule
7) Everything In Front Of You
8) Kato
9) Blood Brother
10) Start A Colony
11) Forget Your Past

Manchester has a great tradition of producing Post Punk bands since the days of pioneers Joy Division and now Young British Artists are here to continue the legacy with a modern twist. ‘A Change By Any Other Name’ is a gloomy, personal affair that emphasizes all that YBA do best. I read that with this album YBA wanted to encapsulate all the intensity that they bring to a live show in this album and there is a certain potency that runs through this album from the first look at the artwork to the last bars of closing track ‘Forget Your Past’ that will leave you thinking mission accomplished. It’s not hard to figure out why their is a lot of hype around this band and why this album has been so eagerly anticipated and now its here, buy it and revel in its depraved beauty.

Follow me here:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s